Irish Manager Announces Squad for Serbian Friendly

Giovanni Trapattoni announced on Friday (20/07/12) his squad for the football friendly between the Republic of Ireland and Serbia on August 15, 2012. The match will take place in the Red Star Stadium in Belgrade, Serbia. The announcement was made in Donegal at the Festival of Football in Ballyboyfey. Trapattoni said "This friendly offers us a great opportunity to try out younger players ahead of our World Cup qualifying campaign. As a result, I have decided to leave some of our senior players out of the squad for this fixture. Serbia are a very good team with a great football heritage, and will provide us with a great test before our game against Kazakhstan in September".


The Squad consists of:-


Keiren Westwood Sunderland AFC
David Forde Millwall FC
Darren Randolph Motherwell FC
Marc Wilson Stoke FC
John O'Shea Sunderland AFC
Sean St. Ledger Leicester City FC
Darren O'Dea Unattached
Stephen Ward Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
Stephen Kelly Fulham FC
Paul McShane Hull City FC
Glenn Whelan Stoke City FC
Darron Gibson Everton FC
James McCarthy Wigan Athletic FC
Paul Green Leeds Utd FC
Seamus Coleman Everton FC
Aiden McGeady Spartak Moscow FC
Andy Keogh Millwall FC
James McClean Sunderland FC
Keith Treacy Burnley FC
Kevin Doyle Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
Shane Long West Bromwich Albion
Simon Cox West Bromwich Albion
Jon Walters Stoke City.

Related links

FAI - Press Release