Add This

Ireland to lose an MEP following Brexit

As Britain leaves the EU it will drag Northern Ireland out of the union. Ireland currently have 14 MEPs, 3 each in Northern Ireland and Dublin and 4 each in Southern Ireland and North Eastern Ireland. As part of the Brexit Deal the Northern Ireland Constituency will cease to be part of the EU parliment. The rest of Ireland will take on 2 of those seats, bring representation down by 1 MEP.

Denmark, Eastonia and Austria will gain additional seats due to brexit.

According Mairead McGuinness the suggested number for other countries are

Belgium 21

Bulgaria 17

Czech Republic 21

Denmark 14

Germany 96

Estonia 7

Ireland 13

Greece 21

Portugal 51

Romania 21

Slovenia 8

Slovakia 14

Finland 14

Sweden 21