Man Booker Award Longlist Announced

Warning: Use of undefined constant php - assumed 'php' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/capital/public_html/cce/news/17/08/21manbooker.php on line 185

The Man Booker Awards have announced their longlist for their annual awards. Two Irish writers made it to the final. Mike McCormack is longlisted for his novel Solar Bones, while previous Irish winner Sebastian Barry has been longlisted for his novel Days Without End.

Mike McCormack has already won the Goldsmiths Prize and the Bord Gais Irish Book of the Year Award 2016, while Barry's novel was awarded the Costa Book of the Year Award in 2016.

Mike McCormack receive a literature bursary for his novel which was published by Tramp Press.

The 2017 complete Man Booker longlist:

4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster (US) (Faber & Faber)

Days Without End by Sebastian Barry (Ireland) (Faber & Faber)

History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund (US) (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

Exit West by Mohsin Hamid (Pakistan-UK) (Hamish Hamilton)

Solar Bones by Mike McCormack (Ireland) (Canongate)

Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor (UK) (4th Estate)

Elmet by Fiona Mozley (UK) (JM Originals)

The Ministry Of Utmost Happiness by Arundhati Roy (India) (Hamish Hamilton)

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders (US) (Bloomsbury Publishing)

Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie (UK-Pakistan) (Bloomsbury Circus)

Autumn by Ali Smith (UK) (Hamish Hamilton)

Swing Time by Zadie Smith (UK) (Hamish Hamilton)

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead (US) (Fleet)

Arts Council Director Orlaith McBride congratulated both novelists saying: “it is wonderful to see these works recognised by the Booker judges. The nominations reflect the strength of contemporary Irish literature and highlight its extraordinary international reputation. The Council is also offers its congratulations to McCormack’s publisher, Tramp Press, which it has supported in recent years – this brings much deserved recognition to its work in supporting, nurturing and promoting Irish writers. These nominations also underscore the importance of supporting writers and writing in Ireland.