Virgin and TV3 Take Lions Share of Europe Soccer

Tue 15 May 2018 22:10:32

Virgin Media have taken the lions share of European Soccer for the next three years. RTÉ move their rights to Tuesday Night, while eirSports have lost all their rights to both the Champions League and the Europa League. It is not yet known how the extra games awarded to Virgin Media and TV3 will be shown. Currently the second choice matches air on pay operator eir, with first choice airing on RTÉ and TV3. BT Sport retain their non-exclusive rights to the games in Ireland.

RTE Sports Personaity of the Year Nominations

Sat 09 Dec 2017 18:39:37

RTE have announced the nominies for the RTE Sports Person of the Year Award 2017. The award is given to a sports person who has achieved success during the year. The nominations are A. Rena Buckley (Camogie), B. Ryan Burnett (Boxing), C. Joe Canning (Hurling), D. Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal (Para-Cycling), E. Noelle Healy (Football), F. James McClean (Soccer), G. Michael McKillop (Para-Athletics), H. Andy Moran (Football), I. Conor Murray (Rugby), J. Paul O\\\\\\\'Donovan (Rowing), K. Robbie Power (Horse-Racing), L. Jason Smyth (Para-Athletics), M. Katie Taylor (Boxing) and N. Joe Ward (Boxing). To vote text between the letters A to N to 53125, across the Island of Ireland.

BBC and ITV announce WC Match Coverage

Mon 04 Dec 2017 17:51:47

The BBC and ITV have announced each of the matches that both broadcasters will air during Russia WC 2018. The split will see the first two England games air on BBC, with ITV taking the second two games in the group G matches. In Ireland RTɠhold the World Cup rights, no decision so far has been made to split the games with TV3 as they did in 2016 for the Euros, neither Irish teams made it to Russia.

Russia World Cup 2018 Groups Announced

Fri 01 Dec 2017 20:55:03

A draw for each of the groups of the FIFA world cup 2018 has taken place. The World Cup will take place in Russia next year. Both Irish Team failed to make it to the finals. The first match takes place on June 14th 2018 when Russia go up against Saudi Arabia at 6pm at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow.