Add This

External Links

Entries now open for Molly Keane Creative Writing Award 2014

Waterford County Council's Arts Office has announced details of their annual Molly Keane Creative Writing Award. This is the 17th year of the award. The award is aimed at unpublished short stories to a maximum of 2000 words. Closing date for entries is Friday the 14th of March 2014.

Molly Keane was short-listed for a Booker Prize in 1981 for Good Behaviour, she also wrote under the pseudonym M.J. Farrell. The writer lived in Ardmore, Co. Waterford until her death in 1996. She was born in Newbridge, Co. Kildare.

The award has been named after the writer with the kind permission of her family. It is open to anyone of any age and open to any subject matter. The winning entry will be awarded €500 at a special ceremony at the IMMRAMA Literary Festival in Lismore, Co. Waterford in June 2014.

To enter the competition download the application form.

Previous Winners

2013 ‘Oscar’s Swim’ by Ann Dempsey, Co. Tipperary
2012 ‘The Tin Bath’ by Patricia Foran, Dublin.
2011 ‘Snailsock’ by Sue Healy, Waterford city.
2010 ‘The Driver’ by Séamus Sweeney, Dublin.
2009 ‘Knuckling Under’ by Mary D’Arcy, Belfast.
2008 ‘It’s hard to die in Springtime’ by Susan Knight, Dublin
2007 ‘ The Wedding Day’ by Billy O’ Callaghan, Co. Cork.
2006 ‘ Kingfisher’ by Margaret Cotter, Co. Laois
2005 ‘Glamour’ by Sheila Killian, Co. Limerick
2004 ‘A Place for Everything’ by Jackie Morrissey, Dublin.
2003 ‘No Way Out’ by Joan Sloey, Dublin.
2002 ‘Escape’ by Pat Jourdan, Galway.
2001 ‘Birthday Greetings’ by Liz Ryan, Co. Kerry.
2000 ‘ The Ark’ by Stephen O’ Reilly, Waterford.
1999 ‘A Little Bit Touched’ by Carole Gurnett, Limerick.
1998 ‘ A Familiar Face’ by Richard Cahill, Co. Tipperary.