Smoky Coal Ban Extended

The Minister for Environment, Community and Local Government, Phil Hogan T.D., as given effect to new consolidating smoky coal ban regulations. The new rules come after a public consultation earlier this year. The new rules also extend the boundaries of the ban in the 20 cities and towns covered by the rules, while also placing such rules on 7 new towns. The new rules come into effect in May 2013.

The expansions of existing areas take into account the large urban development of Ireland in the last 10 years, the ban is extend to all of County Dublin and now includes some suburbs and satellite towns of the city.

The seven new town that are to implement the ban in May 2013 are - Greystones, Letterkenny, Mullingar, Navan, Newbridge and Portlaoise - each exceed the minimum threshold of a population of 15,000. Wicklow Town has also been designated following representations by the public and public representatives of the town.