Rose Of Tralee

Warning: Use of undefined constant php - assumed 'php' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/capital/public_html/cce/news/17/08/15rot.php on line 185

The Rose of Tralee returns to TV screens this year. RTÉ annual event largely means the end of Summer. This will be Dáithí Ó Sé's 8th time presenting the lovely girls event from the Kerry Capital. Launched in Malahide the roses were introduced for the first time to the world at Malahide Castle in Dublin. 64 hopefuls from around the world have traveled for the event. Just 32 will make it to the live finals which are broadcast across 2 days on RTÉ ONE and available on the RTÉ Player to international audiences.

This is the festivals 58th year and 50th year on broadcast TV. The first live televised event was hosted by Joe Lynch (Glenroe's Dinny) in 1967. Kathleen Watkins was the first and only female host over the decade, she took over from husband Gay Byrne in 1977. Gay Byrne hosted 19 Roses from 1974 to 1994. In the 1990's the show as hosted by Derek Davis and Marty Whelan. Ryan Tubrity tookover in 2003 and 2004 and replaced by Ray D'Arcy for the remainder of the 2000s.

Nationwide will also celebrate the Rose of Tralee season, with Mary Kennedy visiting three former Roses in their homes. She will meet Alice O'Sullivan who was the 1959 Dublin Rose, now living in Wicklow. She’ll also chat to Denise Murphy, the 1991 Cork Rose who is living in Cork and Roisin Egenton, the 2000 New York Rose who is now living in Galway. It will air this Wednesday 17 August at 7pm on RTÉ.

Live coverage starts on RTÉ ONE at 8pm on Monday the 21st of August, with the crowning of the 2017 Rose on Tuesday night.