New TG4 Board

Eight new members join the board of TG4. The Minister for Communications Pat Rabbitte also announced a new chairperson for the Board, Siún Ní Raghallaigh. TG4 is the national public service broadcaster for the Irish language, it was established in 1996 as part of RTÉ, since 2007 it has been a separate entity and this is its second Board.

The service is public funded and provides a full range of quality Irish language content to audiences in Ireland and abroad. The Joint Oireachtas Committee (JOC) recommended the nominees, the Minister ultimately decides on the membership of the board.

Re-appointed to the board are Joe Connolly, Pól Ó Gallchóir (TG4 DG), Concubhar Ó Liatháin and Rónán Ó Coisdealbha. The government is committed to Irish language broadcasting and the minister is happy with the calibre and credentials of the appointees.

The newly appointed Board members of TG4 will begin a 5 year term and they are: -

Siún Ní Raghallaigh (Chair)
Des Geraghty
Michelle Ní Chróinín
Micheál Seoighe
Mairéad Ní Cheoinín
Andréa Ní hÉalaithe
Mairéad Nic Suibhne