Shortlist for Dublin IMPAC Literary Award

Dublin's International IMPAC Literary Award nominees have been announced, they include two translations and two first novels. The award is managed by Dublin City Libraries.

The winning novelist will win €100,000 and the award is the most valuable annual literary award for a single work of fiction published in English.

Dublin Lord Mayor Andrew Montague is the Patron of the Award and he had the honour of announcing the shortlist.

Novel Author Nationality Publisher Notes
Rocks in the Belly Jon Bauer Australian Scribe Publications First Novel
The Matter with Morris David Bergen Canadian HarperCollins, Canada  
A Visit from the Goon Squad Jennifer Egan American Alfred A. Knopf Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2011
The Memory of Love Animatta Foreign Sierra Leone Bloomsbury Publishing Born in Britain, raised in Sierra Leone, 2011 Commonwealth Writers Prize
Even the Dogs Jon McGregor Scottish Bloomsbury  
Matterhorn Karl Marlantes American Atlantic Monthly Press First novel
Landed Tim Pears British William Heinemann  
Limassol Yishai Sarid Israeli Europa Editions Translated from Hebrew by Barbara Harshav
The Eternal Son Cristovão Tezza Brazilian Scribe Publications translated from Portuguese by Alison Entrekin
Lean on Pete Willy Vlautin American Faber & Faber  

Lord Mayor Montague said “These ten novels have been shortlisted from a total of 147, nominated by 162 public library systems in 45 countries worldwide and represent the best of readers’ recommendations.”

Dubliner can borrow and read the shortlisted novels from Dublin City Public Libraries. With plenty of time to do so before the winner is announced on the 13th of June.

Margaret Hayes of Dublin City Libraries said “All of these books have been warmly received and critically acclaimed. The issues they cover are serious and include; war, the music industry, addiction, bereavement - loss of a son and of a limb, raising a Down Syndrome child, the devastating effect on children of neglect and perceived neglect, coming of age. There are however, plenty of moments of tenderness, humour and hope throughout.”

The shortlist is made up of nominations made by public libraries around the world. Public Libras in Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Germany, Ireland, New Zealand, Portugal, Russia, The Netherlands and the USA open the nominating list to the public each year.

The judging panel is chaired by Hon. Eugene R. Sullivan and they will select one winner, the winner will be announced by the Lord Mayor of Dublin, Andrew Montague, on Wednesday, 13th June 2012.

Previous winner of the Award include Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann (2011), The Twin by Gerbrand Bakker (2010), Man Gone Down by Michael Thomas (2009), De Niro’s Game by Rawi Hage (2008) and Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson (2007)

Three Irish novels were among the 147 nominated for the 2012 Award last November; Room by Emma Donohue, Faithful Place by Tana French and Skippy Dies by Paul Murray.

Profiles of the 2012 Judging Panel below.

Judge Nationality Occupation Works Other
Mike McCormack Irish Writer Getting it in the Head, Crowe's Requiem and Notes from a Coma Winner of RooneyPrize for Irish Literature, New York Times Notable Book of the Year
Dr. Elizabeth Nunez Trinidad Writer, Producer, Editor Stories from Blue Latitudes: Caribbean Women Writers at Home and Abroad Co-founder of the National Black Writers Conference
Tim Parks English Writter Translating Style, Medici Money and Teach Us To Sit Still He has translated books by Moravia, Calvino, Calasso and Machiavelli
Evelyn Schlag Austrian Poet and Writer Unsichtbare Frauen lectures at Graz and Klagenfurt Universities and was writer-in-residence in Carlisle, Pennsylvania. She was also poetry lecturer at the University of Applied Arts Vienna, in 2010
Dubravka Ugresic



Writer Baba Yaga Laid an Egg, Nobody's Home, The Ministry of Pain She has received several international awards for her writting
Hon. Eugene R. Sullivan American Judge, Writer The Majority Rules, The Report to the Judiciary Chair of the Award. Partner in the Washington D.C. Law Firm Freeh, Sporkin & Sullivan, LLP.